My pre-AP and AP Spanish course syllabi

Here are my syllabi for pre-AP and AP Spanish Language and Culture from last year. They have a 2016-17 date, but I am having to cut out and re-arrange some things because the schedule this year has shorter class periods. I teach pre-AP and AP Spanish Language to heritage Spanish speakers. Since it is a charter school, I believe we have a longer school year than a typical public school.

 

course-outline-ap-spanish-2016-17-for-blog

course-outline-preap-spanish-2016-17-for-blog

This entry was posted in AP Spanish Language and Culture, Lesson Planning, unit planning. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to My pre-AP and AP Spanish course syllabi

  1. I’m filing these away for the one day I eventually get to teach an AP or dual-credit course. Looks like you have a LOT of good stuff! Thanks for sharing!

  2. C VSilva says:

    Wendy,
    THANK you so much for posting your AP/Pre AP outlines…This is my 2nd year w AP and I teach Natives which feed into the AP class. Would you be able to tell me where you find the resources(site or book) for the Pre-AP class?Also, from the outline it seems to me the students are reading almost everyday, correct? Is the reading for comprehension w activities? I’ve been following you for a while and I VERY grateful for your blog, work and advice! Best 2017

  3. Alexandra says:

    OMG I need to talk to you urgently, you are such an amazing teacher and have so many cool ideas. I just had a look at your course outline and would love honestly to talk with you. I am currently, teaching Spanish B (DP) at an IB school in Beijing. Let me know if keen. You rock Hun.
    All the best, Alexandra 🙂

  4. Daniel Kelty says:

    Señora B:

    Thank you very much for sharing these syllabi! They are very helpful. I myself am creating an AP syllabus for my seniors, and your information is a voice in the wilderness for me. Can you tell me what video you refer to that deals with the Tarahumara and the importance of the radio? Thank you in advance!

  5. Daniel Kelty says:

    What readings or videos do you use for the theme of “la clonación”? Thanks in advance.

  6. Daniel Kelty says:

    Thank you very much!

  7. Pingback: Resources for teaching HLL’s | Señora B

  8. Ann Marie Stevens says:

    Your syllabi are very helpful and thank you. What year of instruction do your pre-AP and AP courses represent? Since you seem to teach heritage speakers that question may not apply very well. We teach AP as year 4 and I am exploring every syllabus I can find to think how to best design all of our 4 years so that we can adequately prepare non-native speakers for 4th year AP. I appreciate any suggestions you might have for other sources, too.

    • senorab72 says:

      HI,
      We do a placement test, and the heritage speakers typically test into pre-AP or AP Spanish Language as their first class in high school. We only have a small group of students who do not speak Spanish.

Leave a comment