I am a social reconstructionist

In my last post I quoted John Dewey, and my educational philosophy aligns with his Progressivist views.  I am also a bit of a Social Reconstructionist.  I want my students to be responsible citizens and good stewards.  Inspired by two stories on the CBS show “Sunday Morning,” I created an activity for level 1 to get them thinking about community service and volunteerism.  They did pre- and post-viewing activities in Spanish about two video clips that I showed them in English.  I was very excited about this lesson because we were incorporating grammar and vocabulary that we are studying, but doing so on a meaningful topic.  The themes in level 1 tend to be superficial, so I was eager for the change.  Here are the activities we did:

Tengo una responsabilidad

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I am a social reconstructionist

  1. Pingback: New Twists to Old Themes | Señora B

Leave a Reply

