Conjugating Verbs

This year I’ve been teaching subject pronouns and verbs in Spanish I within a communicative context, with students learning them as needed to ask questions (Do you…?), talk about self, and talk about another person or people.  I’ve haven’t yet figured out a communicative way to incorporate the “nosotros” and “ustedes” pronouns and corresponding  verb conjugations nearly as much.  So far the students are doing well with the forms of ser and tener that we have worked with.  In January we’ll begin regular verbs in the present tense.  So I’m asking myself, is there a reason to teach all conjugations of a verb at a time?  Do I need to spend time drilling all six forms of a verb every time I introduce a new one?  Do I ever need to write a verb chart on the board?

This entry was posted in Verbs and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

